Billboard 1: Chart is in a Funk

This post is the first of what I foresee to be regular commentary on the weekly Billboard Top 100, aided by the killer YouTube channel, HRChart. I plan to comment on the top three songs and any other developments that interest me.

#1: “Uptown Funk ft. Bruno Mars” by Mark Ronson

  • Enjoying its eleventh week at #1, “Uptown Funk”‘s success is disappointing, but not surprising. It has the perfect amount of forced sappiness and happiness to appeal to the masses and create cross-generational pull. Admittedly, if Ronson had chosen a different lead singer, I could have perhaps gotten behind it because the beat is groove-able. However, I loathe Bruno Mars and cannot take any song seriously by someone who released such an atrocity as “The Lazy Song.” Vom. I’ll take some ‘Funk’ over “Happy” anyday though.

#2: “Sugar” by Maroon 5

  • As many women in their late twenties can relate, I used to be a huge Maroon 5 fan. Their first two albums were golden. Hands All Over, in my opinion, marks the point at which the band began to slip into the traps of genericness. I’ve been waiting patiently for Adam and the band to gain back my loyalty since they started singing about Jagger and payphones. “Animal” is a good song and blind-sided me momentarily, but “Maps” and this “Sugar” garbage have kept me grounded in post-Maroon 5 fandom.

#3: “Thinking Out Loud” by Ed Sheeran

  • Nothing really to say about this song other than it is absolutely lovely. Sorry to see it slip to #3 this week. Sheeran has definitely won me over with this album.

 

 

One thought on “Billboard 1: Chart is in a Funk

Leave a Reply

